Bed & Breakfast La Source de Castagnols, a sustainable Chambre et table d'hôtes de Charme, is a charming house in the Cévennes in the heart of the Cevennes National Park. We invite you for an exceptional stay in nature and experience our passion for hospitality.

Share our passion for nature and the heritage of the Cevennes and Lozère. La Source de Castagnols offers you comfort, space and nature in the most optimal form. In addition to the usual comfort, we also offer you a different comfort, namely, silence, space, pastoral landscapes and a sky that is unevenly black. The Milky Way gives light here.

B&B de charme in the Cevennes

Castagnols is a small well protected and isolated village, located at 790m altitude in the protection area of the "the Cevennes National Park". In the heart of nature and close to Vialas, between Le Pont de Montvert and Genolhac.

The former restored farmhouse which bears the name of the ancient source of the village which flows on its lands. The farm probably dates from the thirteenth century and well before 1684, the date marked on lintels of the most recent building. The house has a beautiful dining room with a huge fireplace. The massive natural stone walls, the numerous gates, the heavy chestnut beams, the slate roofs and the closed and open terraces all give the farmhouse all its charm and intimate and robust character.

view on the garden B&B la source de castagnols

On the farmhouse land of 2,5ha are many faïsses, as they are called locally, once-farmed terraces which offer wide panoramas of the Mont Lozère and the mountains of the Ardèche. You will find quiet places to enjoy solitude and the silence of Castagnols. Some terraces are shaded, others sun-drenched for sunbathing. There is also a terrace devoted to children, with swings, spaces to construct cabins and a place for water-play by the spring.

The big dining room of B&B la source de castagnols

The Cévennes is an excellent region for hiking and mountain biking. Its landscape is highly varied and breathtakingly beautiful. The landscape is perfect for hiking or mountain biking.

Wherever one cycles, the steepness of the slopes and the hairpin bends compete for the attention demanded by the beauty of the surroundings. You will find little valleys with rushing streams and secret spots, high wide plateaus with rough boulders, deep gorges with coursing water. Hiking can begin literally just in front of our farmhouse, which is situated on the edge of a GR or Grande Randonnée trail. There is no need to use your car at all, although you will find it rewarding to explore the area further by car. There are nearby streams and water courses where you may swim, jump, dive and construct dams. There a number of outdoor sports to be enjoyed, such as canoeing/kayaking, canyoning, rock climbing, mountain biking, horse riding, and hiking with a donkey, as described by Robert Louis Stevenson in his Travels with a Donkey in the Cévennes.  

We will be delighted to welcome you at “La Source de Castagnols”. Chambres et table d'hôtes de Charme

Marjoleine and Henk-Jan SPRUIJT.  T. 0033 (0)466 41 05 79 
Lieu dit Castagnols, 48220 Vialas, France,  

  un detail en chambres d'hôtes en Cévennes

We have signed the European Charter for Sustainable Tourism in Protected Areas (CETD).

Le Parc Nationale des Cévennes vous conseille notre chambres d´hôtes  

Our structure is a member of the Cévennes Ecotourisme association. This association includes hundreds of tourism professionals involved in a process of progress defined by the European Charter for Sustainable Tourism in Protected Areas. Concerned to preserve the wealth of our heritage, we invest daily to Ecotourism. We will look in this commitment to improve our performance in the three areas of sustainable development: the environmental, the economic aspect and the social aspect.

Chambres et table d'hôtes de Charme, B & B, La Source de Castagnols, une maison de Charme en Cévennes au coeur du Parc National des Cévennes. Nous vous invitons pour un séjour d'exception et d'expérimenter et partager notre passion pour l'accueil, la nature et le patrimoine des Cévennes et la Lozère.

La Source de Castagnols vous offre le repos, confort, de l’espace en pleine nature sous forme optimale. En plus du confort habituel, nous vous proposons également un confort différent à savoir, le silence, pas de polution, de l'espace, des paysages pastoraux et un ciel qui est inégalablement noir. La Voie lactée donne de la lumière ici. Nous nous engageons pour un tourisme durable. Énoncée par la Charte Européenne du Tourisme Durable dans les Espaces Protégés.

chambres de charme en Cevennes

Castagnols est un petit village bien protégé et isolé, situé à 790m d'altitude dans la zone de protection du "Parc National des Cévennes". Au cœur de la nature et à proximité de Vialas, entre Le Pont de Montvert et Genolhac. 

L'ancien mas restaurée qui porte le nom de l'ancien source du village qui coule sur ses terres. Le mas date probablement du XIIIe siècle et bien avant 1684, la date marqué sur des linteaux du bâtiment le plus recent. La maison a une belle salle à manger avec un énorme cheminée. Les murs en pierres naturelles massives, les nombreux portails, les lourdes poutres en châtaignier, les toitures en lauzes et les terrasses fermées et ouvertes, tout ça donnent au mas tout son charme et caractère intime et robuste.

Un havre de paix dans le Parc national des Cévennes.

Contactez nous pour plus de renseignements de notre chambre et table d'hôtes au numero 0033 (0)4 66 41 05 79 ou remplissez le formulaire sur la page Contactez nous.

Sur le terrain de 2,5 ha du mas se trouvent de nombreuses terrasses, appelées faïsses dans le langage du pays. Les chemins alentour offrent de larges panoramas sur le mont Lozère et les Cévennes. Il y a des lieux où on peut s’isoler pour écouter le silence de Castagnols. Il y a des terrasses ombragées et des terrasses ensoleillées.

la cheminée cévenol et la table d'hôtes en Cévennes

Les Cévennes sont par excellence une région de randonnées à pied et à bicyclette. C’est une région très variée qui est caractérisée par une beauté à vous couper le souffle. Le paysage paraît être créé pour y faire de belles randonnées à vélo ou à pied. Où que l’on aille à vélo, partout le caractère sportif des pentes raides et des épingles à cheveux, continue à rivaliser avec l’attention que demande la beauté du paysage. Des vallées riantes avec de petits cours d’eau et des endroits secrets, des hauts plateaux étendus avec des rochers rugueux, de profondes crevasses avec de jolis ruisseaux. Les randonnées commencent littéralement devant la porte de notre mas. Le mas est situé sur le bord d’un chemin de randonnée (G.R). Vous n’avez pas à faire d’interminables parcours en voiture pour trouver la nature. Même si un tour en voiture dans les environs est une expérience à ne pas manquer non plus.

Marjoleine et Henk-Jan SPRUIJT.  T. 0033 (0)466 41 05 79 
Lieu dit Castagnols, 48220 Vialas, France,  

  un detail en chambres d'hôtes en Cévennes

Depuis juin 2012 nous sommes devenu signataire de la Charte européenne de tourisme durable dans les espaces protégés (CETD). 

Le Parc Nationale des Cévennes vous conseille notre chambres d´hôtes 

Notre structure est membre de l'association Cévennes Ecotourisme. Cette association regroupe une centaine de professionnels du tourisme engagés dans une démarche de progrès définie par la Charte Européenne du Tourisme Durable dans les Espaces Protégés. Soucieux de préserver les richesses de notre patrimoine, nous nous investissons au quotidien pour l'Écotourisme. Nous rechercherons par cet engagement à améliorer nos performances dans les trois domaines du développement durable : Le respect de l’environnement, de l’aspect économique et du volet social. 

Mentions legales